Following the trend, I attempted to close my LinkedIn account. Closing a LinkedIn account involves confirming and confirming and confirming again. Once it’s all done, you’d expect to, well, be done with it.
I’m outraged at the result:
- My public profile is still there. I can’t be sure but I guess people with a connection to me can still see the full profile.
- I’m still receiving LinkedIn connection emails (You, know, those “Learn about xxxxxxx, your new connection…” emails ; I must have had pending outgoing invitations).
- I can still reset my password.
- I can still login.
The only upside is that after I login, I can only see a page saying “Your LinkedIn account has been temporarily restricted”. “Contact our customer service team to get this resolved as soon as possible.”
Update: After contacting their customer service, the account was closed and the public profile is now unavailable.